Members of the Historic Preservation Commission

Arnold J. Leckie, Chairman
Mary-Lynne Menz
Geoff Tesch

Emily Watson

Diane C. Ham, Town Historian - Ex. Officio



The Mendon Historic Preservation Commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00PM in the Mendon Town Hall, 16 West Main Street, Honeoye Falls.




Section 121-4. Historic Preservation Commission


There is hereby created a commission to be known as the "Mendon Historic Preservation Commission."


A. The Commission shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the Town Board. In addition, the Town Historian shall serve as an ex-officio nonvoting member. Members shall be residents of the Town of Mendon who shall have a known interest and knowledge of historic preservation and architectural development within the Town of Mendon.


B. Commission members shall serve for a term of three years, with the exception of the initial term of two members, which shall be one year, two which shall be two years and one which shall be three years. After the effective date hereof increasing the membership from five to seven, the terms of the two new appointees shall expire December 31, 1998, and December 31, 1999, so that the staggering of term appointment may be achieved.


C. The Chairperson of the Commission shall be appointed annually by the Town Board, and the Vice Chairperson shall be elected by and from among the members of the Commission.


D. The responsibilities of the Commission shall include:

(1) Appointment of staff and professional consultants, as necessary, to carry out the duties of the Commission, with compensation only as approved by the Town Board.

(2) Promulgation of rules and regulations, as necessary, for the conduct of its business.

(3) Adoption of criteria for the identification of significant historic, architectural and cultural landmarks.

(4) Provisions for surveys of significant historic, architectural and cultural landmarks within the town.

(5) Designation of identified structures or resources as landmarks; agreement to accept for such designation those structures or landmarks that qualify for such designation, should the owner(s) so request it, and maintaining a public register thereof.

(6) Making recommendations to the Town Board concerning the acquisition of facade easements, development rights or other interests in real property, as necessary to carry out the purpose of this chapter.

(7) Increasing public awareness of the value of historic, cultural and architectural preservation by developing and participating in public education programs.

(8) Making recommendations to the town government concerning the use of state, federal or private funds to promote preservation of landmarks within the town.

(9) Recommending acquisition of landmark structures by the town government where the preservation is essential to the purposes of this chapter and where private preservation is not feasible.

(10) Approval or disapproval of applications for certificates of appropriateness pursuant to this chapter.


E. The Commission shall meet at least quarterly, but meetings may be held at any time on the written request of any two of the Commission members or on the call of the Chairperson or the Supervisor.


F. A quorum for the transaction of business shall consist of any four of the Commission members, and not fewer than four may grant or deny certificates of appropriateness or acceptance of any qualifying landmark for designation.


G. All voting members shall have inspected the property concerned before voting on such certificates of appropriateness or acceptance of any qualifying landmark for designation.






 Historic Homes

 Historic Barns

 History of Mendon


Copyright © 2019 Town of Mendon. All Rights Reserved.
Web Development by SiteSteward, Inc.